Know More about the Varieties of NFC Tag Types

NFC tags are fairly common these days and are used for a wide variety of applications. Did you know that there are actually different NFC tag types?

They vary in terms of data transfer speeds, storage sizes, and many other features. They are also classified into ISO 14443 Types A and B and the Sony FeliCa system. If you are looking for the best NFC tag that is suitable for your requirements, you need to understand the specifications of each type!

Tag 1 Type – ISO 14443A standard (13.56MHz)

This tag is read/write capable, but you can set it to be read-only. Because it only has 96 bytes up to 2Kbyte of memory, it can only store short website URLs and data like employee ID information. With a communication speed of 106 kbit/s, type 1 is good enough for many NFC applications.

Tag 2 Type – ISO 14443A standard (13.56MHz)

It is very similar to NFC tag type 1 tags. However, its usable memory is between 48 bytes and 2 Kbyte. Like the first type, the NFC tag 2 type offers a communication speed of 106 kbit/s.

Tag 3 Type – Sony FeliCa System (13.56MHz)

With a usable memory is of 2 Kbyte and a data communications speed of 212 kbit/s, NFC tag type 3 is more reliable and capable than the first two types. It is ideal for e-tickets, electronic IDs, membership cards, healthcare devices, and home electronics. 

Tag 4 Type – ISO 14443A and ISO 14443B Standard (13.56MHz)

Tag 4 types are preset at manufacture. You can find two variations: read-only, or read/write. Its memory capacity can reach 32 Kbytes while its communication speed can reach 424 kbit/s. The most salient feature and benefit of the type 4 tag is security. Thus, it is utilised in situations where authentication is needed.